Former Lynyrd Skynyrd guitarist, Ed King, passed away on Wednesday, 22nd August 2018, at the age of 68. The death cause hasn't been revealed, but it was known that he was battling with lung cancer and was recently hospitalized. King was a member of Lynyrd Skynyrd from 1972 to 1975, and again from 1987 to 1996, and performed at the first three classic Skynyrd albums. He co-wrote the band's classic song, "Sweet Home Alabama" - he was also a founding member of the 60s psych-rock band Strawberry Alarm Clock.  

King's family wrote on Facebook: "It is with great sorrow we announce the passing of Ed King who died at his home in Nashville, Tennessee on August 22nd, 2018. We thank his many friends and fans for their love and support of Ed during his life and career".

Gary Rossington, a founding member of Lynyrd Skynyrd, said he was "shocked and saddened" by King's death. He said: "Ed was our brother, and a great songwriter and guitar player. I know he will be reunited with the rest of the boys in rock and roll heaven. Our thoughts and prayers are with Sharon and his family".

According to the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA), which recalculated the sales of the Eagles' greatest hits album ("Their Greatest Hits 1971 - 1975"), Eagles have overtaken Michael Jackson and his "Thriller" album, which for almost a decade was the best selling album of all time. RIAA, which took into account total streams, downloads and traditional sales since 2006, certified the Eagles' best of album as 38x platinum, pushing the 33x platinum "Thriller" to second place. Apart from this, Eagles' "Hotel California" album is now 26x platinum, making the legendary album No. 3 on the all-time list. 

Don Henley, a founding member of The Eagles, commented: "We are grateful for our families, our management, our crew, the people at radio and, most of all, the loyal fans who have stuck with us through the ups and downs of 46 years. It’s been quite a ride".


On the 21st of August, American President Donald Trump used a well-known Aerosmith song ("Livin' on the Edge" off the "Get A Grip" album) at a rally, at West Virginia's Charleston Civic Center. That caused the reaction of Aerosmith's frontman, Steven Tyler, who asked Trump not to use again an Aerosmith song for his political campaigns or rallies. Tyler's lawyer sent a letter to the White House, "accusing the President of willful infringement in broadcasting the song". It should be mentioned that is not happening for the first time since Aerosmith classic song "Dream On" was used at Trump rallies. 

Steven Tyler tweeted: "This is not about Dems vs. Repub. I do not let anyone use my songs without my permission. My music is for causes, not for political campaigns or rallies. Protecting copyright and songwriters is what I've been fighting for even before this current administration took office", "This is one of the reasons why Joe Perry and I have been pushing the senate to pass the Music Modernization Act. No is a complete sentence".


Everybody knows the three tenors, the operatic singing group of Plácido Domingo, José Carreras and Luciano Pavarotti. Well now, we have a new singing group of three metal singers, The Three Tremors! This singing super-group consists of Sean Peck, Tim "Ripper" Owens and Harry Conklin. Their self-titled debut album will be released on September 20. Let's say what the three singers have to say.

Sean Peck (Cage, Death Dealer, Denner/Shermann): "It was about five years ago, I was camping and thinking about the whole Three Tremors urban legend from long ago and what a shame it was that it never happened. Then I started thinking about if there was a resurrected 2018 version of it, who would I get, and Tim and Harry were at the top of my list. I immediately reached out to Tim, who agreed to embark on this adventure and Harry quickly joined next. It took a long time to put it together, create the right songs, and get it properly arranged, but the results are beyond my wildest expectations. I think the fans are really going to freak out on what we have done with this record, and live it's going to be almighty I assure you!"

Tim "Ripper" Owens (Judas Priest, Iced Earth, Yngwie Malmsteen): "Sean's band, Cage, opened for Judas Priest on the 'Jugulator' tour in San Diego — that is where I first met him. He hit me up about resurrecting the idea and actually doing a record, and then a band, to put this out in the live setting also, and I thought it sounded really cool. The record came out really strong and I think the fans deserved to have a thing like this actually exist. We performed two of the songs live already when I was out in San Diego shooting the video for the first single, and it was a blast."

Harry Conklin (Jag Panzer)": "Sean and I ended up at a party together in Germany, where we were both playing the same festival, and he told me about the Three Tremors album he was putting together and asked if I would be into it. He described the concept and how he wanted to bring this old idea to actual life and I said I was in. Once I started hearing the songs that were being sent over for me to record, I knew this thing was going to be really powerful. Then when I got sent the final mixes with all three of us on it, my jaw hit the floor on how well it all came together. For heavy metal fans, this is the ultimate."


01. Invaders From The Sky 
02. Bullets For The Damned 
03. When The Last Scream Fades 
04. Wrath Of Asgard 
05. The Cause 
06. King Of The Monsters 
07. The Pit Shows No Mercy 
08. Sonic Suicide 
09. Fly Or Die 
10. Lust Of The Blade 
11. Speed To Burn 
12. The Three Tremors (bonus track)
Sean Peck, Tim "Ripper" Owens, Harry Conklin - vocals
Dave Garcia - guitar
Casey Trask - guitar
Alex Pickard - bass
Sean Elg - drums